Ι. Ν. ΑΓΙΑΣ ΠΑΡΑΣΚΕΥΗΣ
62, Aiolou St., close to Agias Eirinis Square
next to Panagia Chryssospiliotissa
On the pedestrian part of Aiolou street, at the center of Athens, next to the impressive church of Panagia Chrysospiliotissa is the small picturesque church of Agia Paraskevi. It was constructed during the Turkish occupation of Greece and according to written testimonies initially it was a chapel of the church of Panagia Chrysospiliotissa. In 1762 it was given to the Monastery of Ossios Meletios Kithairona and then it became its Metochi, mainly due to the fact that the monks of the monastery needed a place to stay, when they had to spend the night in Athens. From 1883 to 1928 it became part, together with the Monastery of Ossios Meletios, of the Monastery of Faneromeni in Salamina, and for this reason it was called the “Aeginitiko Metochi”. Today it belongs again to the Monastery of Ossios Meletios. Architecturally, it follows the type of one-aisle vaulted basilica and on the northern side a small aisle has been added, where they have constructed a representation of the hideous Calvary. The wall paintings that decorate its interior date from 1930.
The church celebrates on July 26th.
For a page with Basic Architectural Terminology, including terms used in the description of the ancient Greek temples and the Orthodox churches of Athens, click here!